What We Do

Growing Community Connections is a community collaborative. SHIP is the backbone agency and grant coordinator for the project. The collaborative formed out of the ashes of South Sioux City School’s Safe Schools Grant. Originally called “Cardinal Connections”, GCC changed its name to be reflective of the entire county, and be more inclusive of the 3 other School Districts. The collaborative through SHIP is funded by a Child Well Being Grant from Nebraska Children & Families Foundation, which helps build a community collaborative over 5 years and $340,000.

Project partners include Boys and Girls Home, NENCAP (Northeast Nebraska Community Action Partnership), Boys Town, South Sioux City Schools, Crittenton Center, Prairie Psychological Services, Jackson Recovery Centers, A Better Way Therapy, The Lodge Counseling Services, UNL Extension in Dakota County, ESU Service Unit #1, Dakota County Sheriff’s Department, Homer Community School District, Department of Health and Human Services, City of South Sioux City, South Sioux City Chamber of Commerce, Cubby Care Campus Preschool, the Siouxland Family Center and many more.


Matt-picture.jpg
  • Matt Ohman

    Matt Ohman is the Executive Director for Siouxland Human Investment Partnership. He is responsible for the management, guidance and direction for all programs and services provided by and authorized by SHIP.

    Graduating from East High School, Matt is a lifelong Sioux City resident. He graduated from Morningside College in 2000 with a degree in mass communication and business. He worked as an account executive at Cable One Advertising for six years prior to coming to SHIP in 2006. His role at SHIP from 2006 – 2012 was as a contract coordinator and Early Childhood Iowa Director.

    Matt has been coordinating the Social-Emotional grant from Nebraska Children & Families Foundation for Dakota County Connections since early 2012. As the SHIP representative, he helps to facilitate all DCC meetings and coordinates all of the work being done by SHIP on behalf of DCC.

    Matt’s personal connection to Dakota County is that his mother, Jean Ohman, was a teacher and librarian in the South Sioux City School District for nearly twenty years before she retired in 1993.

JoAnn150x150.jpg
  • JoAnn Gieselman – Growing Community Connections Director

    JoAnn has the joy of serving as the” Growing Community Connections” collaboration director. As director she gets to serve with, support, and connect many agencies, business, schools, city officials, churches, individuals and more in our tri-state area in fun and unique ways. The GCC collaboration’s Common Agenda is to improve the quality of life for the children, youth, and families that we all serve and live with. The GCC collaboration knows that by combining our expertise and resources we can provide the best supports possible.

    JoAnn graduated from the University of Nebraska at Kearney. She has a Bachelor of Arts in Education with an endorsement in Early Childhood Education. Throughout her career JoAnn has taken additional graduate courses in Behavioral Disabilities and Social work from both the University of Nebraska and the University of Iowa.

    JoAnn has been an active part of Growing Community Connections since its conception and truly enjoys the wonderful opportunity she has to work with the many industrious and inspirational individuals and agencies in our area.

 

Below is a list of all the fantastic partners in Growing Community Connections who have signed the “Common Agenda Statement” which is to : “Improve the quality of life and social=emotional well-being of children, youth, and families in our communities”. Signing this does not obligate anyone but rather shows our wonderful collaborative spirit to work together to better support the children, youth and families in our communities. All GCC partners are encouraged to sign and add their name to the list at any time.

Becky Keen - Wayne State College

bekeen1@wsc.edu

www.wsc.edu

Abby Kempema - Beyond the Bell

akempema@beyondthebell.us.com

website

Angela Korth - Neb. VR

angela.korth@nebraska.gov

www.vr.nebraska.gov

Tammy Lee - American Red Cross

tammy.lee.redcross.org

www.redcross.org/ia

Mariel Limon - NENCAP

mlimon@nencap.org

www.nencap.org

Karen Mackey - Sioux City Human Rights Commission

kmackey@sioux-city.org

www.sioux-city.org

Karen Mackey - Siouxland Pride Alliance

iowajudo@aol.com

www.siouxcitypride.org

Lucus Mann - Neb. VR

lucas.mann@nebraska.gov

www.vr.nebraska.gov

Amber Martin -

amber.martin2@va.gov

website

Becky Mathis - South Sioux City Hosting Agency

bmathis@southsiouxcity.org

www.southsiouxcity.org

Brooke McBride - S.T.A.R.S.

brooke@scstars.org

www.scstars.org

Kevin McCormick - Sioux City Police Dept.

kmccormick@sioux-city.org

www.sioux-city.org

Steve McGrory - BOOST

macmcgrory@gmail.com

website

Michele Melo - Nebraska DHHS

michele.meo@nebraska.gov

website

Shawna Messerlie - Wayne State College

shmesse1.wsc.edu

www.wsc.edu

Angela Messina Lundeen - NENCAP

alundeen@nencap.org

www.nencap.org

Kara Michaelson - Nebraska VR

kara.michaelson@nebraska.gov

www.vr.nebraska.gov

Rev. Jose Miranda - St. Paul United Methodist Church

jose.miranda99@yahoo.com

website

Erin Mockler - Winnebago Domestic

erin.mockler@winnebagotribe.com

www.winnebagotribe.com

Elexa Mollet - Winnebago Tribe of Nebraska

elexa.mollet@winnebagotribe.com

www.winnebagotribe.com

Gina Moyer - Sanford Center

gsmoyer@yahoo.com

www.sanfordcenter.org

Sandy Nation - Dakota County Community

snation@siouxlandship.org

www.growingcommunityconnections.com

Diane Neri - Goodwill of the great plains

nerid@goodwillgreatplains.org

www.goodwillgreatplains.org

Jessica Nutz - Survivor Outreach Services

jessica.a.nutz.ctr@mail.mil

www.armymwr.com/programs-and-services/personal-assistance/survivor-outreach

Matt Ohman - Siouxland Human Investment Partnership

mohman@siouxlandship.org

www.siouxlandship.org

Andrea Paret - Mary J. Treglia Community House

legal@marytreglia.org

www.marytreglia.org

Michelle Parker - Ho-Chunk Comm. Development Corp.

mparker@hccdc.org

www.hccdc.org

Tavis Perry - BOOST

tperry@siouxlandship.org

www.siouxlandship.org

Karen Ramos - NENCAP

kramos@nencap.org

www.nencap.org

Karen Ramos - Head Start

kramos@nencap.org

www.nencap.org

Heidi Reinking - Siouxland Chamber of Commerce

hreinking@siouxlandchamber.com

www.siouxlandchamber.com

Bernadette Rixner - Siouxland Coalition Against Human Trafficing

schatinc@gmail.com

www.siouxlandagainsttrafficing.org

Lillyan Rodriguez - Delta Hotels by Marriott

lillyan.rodriquez@deltahotels.com

www.marriott.deltasouthsiouxcity

Rogelio Rodriguez -

rogelio.rodriguezvillalobos@nebraska.gov

website

Mecca Ross - UFCW Local 222

mross@ufcw.org

website

Maria Rundquist - Rundquist Linguistics

mariarundquist1@gmail.com

www.rundquistlinguistics.com

Brenda Sale - Neb. Extension in Dakota County

bsale2@unl.edu

www.dakota.unl.edu

Linda Scheid - Food Bank Of Siouxland

linda@siouxlandfoodbank.org

www.siouxlandfoodbank.org

Stacy Schenk - Nebraska DHHS

stacy.schenk@nebraska.gov

www.accessnebraska.gov

Kelsey Schomaker - SHIP

kschomaker@siouxlandship.org

www.siouxlandship.org

Steve Shadle -

sshadle27@cableone.net

website

Alyssa Silver - Lutheran Services of Iowa

alyssa.silver@lsiowa.org

www.lsiowa.org

Jonette Spurlock - Center for Siouxland

jonette.spurlock@centerforsiouxland.org

www.centerforsiouxland.org

Todd Strom - South Sioux City Schools

todd.strom@ssccards.org

www.ssccardinals.org

Mawerdi Sufyan -

sawesweet@gmail.com

website

Kristy Tremayne - New Stage Players

kristytremayne@gmail.com

www.newstageplayers.com

Jennie Umland -

jennie.umland@nebraska.gov

www.nebraska.gov

Susan Vondrak - Opportunities Unlimited

svondrak@opportunitiesunlimited.com

www.opportunitiesunlimited.com

Mohamed Warsame - Sugal Consulting

mohamedwarsame11@gmail.com

www.sugalconsulting.com

Mohamed Warsame - East African Comm. of Neb.

mohamedwarsame11@gmail.com

www.sugalconsulting.com

Melinda Wells - South Sioux City HS

melinda.wells@ssccards.org

www.ssccardinals.org

Jesse Williams - District 6 Probation

jesse.williams@nebraska.gov

website

Valerie Williams - Center for Siouxland

valerie.williams@centerforsiouxland.org

www.centerforsiouxland.org

Kim Wilson - Jackson Recovery Centers

kwilson@jacksonrecovery.com

www.jacksonrecovery.com

Donna Wolff - Northeast NE Suicide Prevention Coalition

donna68701.yahoo.com

website

Donna Wolff - Ponca Tribe of Neb.

dwolff@poncatribe-ne.org

www.poncatrible-ne.org

Veronica Yebra - Nebraska DHHS

veronica.yebra@nebraska.gov

website

Christa Yoakum - Nebraska Appleseed

cyoakum@neappleseed.org

www.neappleseed.org

Ellen - Immigrant Legal Center

ellen@immigrantlc.org

www.immigrantlc.org

Karina - Immigrant Legal Center

karina@immigrantlc.org

website

Jason Allen - GiGi’s Playhouse

jcallen@gigisplayhouse.org

www.gigisplayhouse.org/siouxcity

Kim Andersen - Nebraska

kim.andersen@nebraska.gov

www.neworks.nebraska.gov

Michelle Andersen - CAASA

michelle@caasaonline.org

www.caasaonline.org

Melinda Arguello - Mercy Housing

marguello@mercyhousing.org

www.mercyhousing.org

Sara Arguello - Haven House

saraa@havenhousefsc.org

www.havenhousefsc.com

Tonya Bauman - Building Blocks Foster Care

tonya@buildingblocksforkids.org

www.buildingblocksforkids.org

Mallory Berkenpas - Lutheran Services of Iowa

mallory.berkenpas@lsiowa.org

www.lsiowa.org

Terrie Binneboese - United Way

tbinneboese@unitedwaysiouxland.com

www.unitedwaysiouxland.com

David Bittenger - Norm Waitt Sr YMCA

dbittenger@nwsymca.org

www.nwsymca.org

Kristine Bornholtz - Women Aware

kristinewa@siouxlan.net

www.womenawarescia.org

Julie Boyle - Neb. Extension in Dakota County

julie.boyle@uni.unl.edu

www.dakota.unl.edu

Rev. Sandra Braasch - Salem Lutheran Church

pastor@salemdakotacity.org

www.salemdakotacity.org

Kevin Brown - Sioux City Vet Center

kevin.brown11@va.gov

www.va.gov

Jacquelyn Brummond - Dakota County Star

star_advertising@sturekmedia.com

website

Meghan Buresh -

meghann.buresh@nebraska.gov

website

Jami Canham - Neb. Department of Labor

jami.canham@nebraska.gov

www.neworks.nebraska.gov

Mike Carlson - District 6 Probation

mike.carlson@nebraska.gov

website

Rachael Cohen -

rachael.cohen@nebraska.gov

website

Roxana Cortes Peyer - Immigrant Legal Center

roxana@immigrantlc.org

www.immigrantlc.org

Linda Cravens - NENCAP

lcravens@nencap.org

www.nencap.org

Nicole Cusick - WellCare of Nebraska

nicole.cusick@wellcare.com

www.wellcare.com/nebraska

Lacey Davis - Owens Educational Services

lacey.davis@owenseducationalservices.org

www.theowenscompanies.com

Rita DeJong - BOOST

rkdj53@gmail.com

website

Jacqueline DeLeon - BOOST

jdeleon@nencap.org

www.nencap.org

Sara DeLuna - Institute for Community Alliances

sara.deluna@icalliances.org

website

Nick Demke - Proteus, Inc.

nickd@proteusinc.net

www.proteusinc.net

Terri Dooley - Boys & Girls Home

dooleyt@bghome.net

www.boysandgirlshomeiowa.org

Julie Elbert - Catholic Charities

jelbert@cathchar.com

www.cathchar.com

Terry Embke - Morningside Bible Church

embketer@hotmail.com

www.morningsidebiblechurch.org

Abbie Engel - ESU #1

aengel@esu1.org

www.esu1.org

Abbie Engel - Parents Interacting With Infants

aengel@esu1.org

website

Kevin Engel-Cartie - Volunteer Siouxland

kevin@volunteersiouxland.org

www.volunteersiouxland.org

Mandy Engel-Cartie - Girls Inc of Sioux City

mandy@girlsincofsiouxcity.org

www.girlsincofsiouxcity.org

Susan Erickson -

susanericksoncoaching@gmail.com

website

David Faldmo - Siouxland Community Health

dfaldmo@slandchc.com

www.slaandchc.com

Stephen Fasnacht - Camp High Hopes

sfasnacht@camphighhopes.com

www.camphighhopes.com

Shawn Fick - Goodwill of the Great Plains

ficks@godwillgreatplains.org

www.goodwillgreatplains.org

Jim France -

jimginfrance@gmail.com

website

Rouleen Gartner - LaunchPad Children’s

rouleen@launchpadmuseum.com

www.launchpadmuseum.com

Bill Garvey. SR. - South Sioux City Athletic Boosters

bgarvey@cableone.net

website

Bill Garvey. Sr. - South Sioux City Community Foundation

bgarvey@cableone.net

website

Bill Garvey. Sr. - Voices for Food

bgarvey@cableone.net

website

Bill Garvey. Sr. - Cardinal Christmas Baskets

bgarvey@cableone.net

website

Janet Gill - Dakota County Commissioners

janet.gill@hotmail.com

website

Maria Gomez - CAASA

maria@caasaonline.org

www.caasaonline.org

Anne Grohs - Cottonwood Conference Center

abvissc@gmail.com

www.cottonwoodinnandconferencecenter.com

Olga Guevara - Unity in Action

olga.guevara@unitedinactionne.org

www.unitedinactionne.org

James Gunsolley - ESU #1

mrsgun@msn.com

www.esu1.org

Brett Hall - Lawyer

hall.law.brett@gmail.com

www.siouxlandlawyers.com

Kerri Hall - SHIP

khall@siouxlandship.org

www.siouxlandship.org

Stacie Hardy - Umonhon Nation Public

shardy@unpsk-12.org

www.unpsk-12.org

Jan Hawk - NENCAP

jhawk@nencap.org

www.nencap.org

Heather Hennings - United Way

hhennigs@unitedwaysiouxland.com

www.unitedwaysiouxland.com

Molly Hewitt - ISU Ext. & Outreach

hewittm@iastate.edu

www.extension.iastate.edu/woodbury

Trista Hodgson - Bethany Christian Services

thodgson@bethany.org

www.bethany.org

Jacob Huju - Immigrant Legal Center

jacob@immigrantlc.org

www.immigrantlc.org

Jennifer Jackson - Heartland Counseling Services

jennifer@heartlandcounselingservices.com

www.heartlandcounselingservices.org

Christie Johnson - Siouxland Comm. Health Center

cjohnson@slandchc.com

www.slandchc.com

Linda Kalin - Iowa Poison Control Center

Kinda.Kalin@unitypoint.org

www.iowapoison.org

Miranda Karn -

miranda.karn@nebraska.gov

website